Competition Regulations

I. Object

The Ministry of the Economy – Directorate General for Tourism, in partnership with Luxinnovation, is launching a national competition entitled Tourism Innovation Award 2018 with the aim of encouraging innovation in tourism.

II. Conditions of eligibility

a. Eligible candidates:

The competition is open to small and medium-sized businesses, which are legal entities under Luxembourg law, carry on an activity in Luxembourg and are in the process of realising or wish to realise a particularly innovative idea in relation to the tourism sector.

b. Eligible projects:

Projects to develop new solutions (products or services) are eligible provided they meet three criteria:

Innovative nature: the product or service (or combination of the two) is new to the enterprise. The planned characteristics or uses are significantly different from those created previously. This may involve the development of a new technology or the adaptation of an existing technology, but the focus must be on the client and their requirements.
Recent project: the project submitted must not date back more than three years from the date of application. It may also be in its last phase of development prior to its introduction to the market.
Tourism: the project must relate to the tourism sector.
Projects will not be eligible if they are contrary to the values of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg or risk harming its image.

III. Different categories of prizes

Projects may be entered in one of the following two categories:

1) SMART TOURISM: intelligent solutions, information and offer personalisation, open-source solutions, data protection, virtual reality, 3D visualisation, geocoding, etc.

2) CIRCULAR ECONOMY AND SUSTAINABLE TOURISM: optimisation of resource and material flows, resource efficiency, the sharing economy, the Internet of things, ecotourism, protection of the environment, protection of natural resources, etc.

IV. Rewards

The winner of each of the two categories indicated in Section III above will be rewarded with a sum of € 15,000.

A Public Prize is awarded among all projects submitted and is awarded a reward of € 15,000.

In addition to the financial aid from which the two winners will benefit, Luxinnovation will offer an analysis of the projects presented by the six finalists and will make an assessment of their innovative potential as well as providing a roadmap for the project’s implementation. Such project assistance will not include any financial support for its implementation. The competition rewards the innovative idea as described in the Section above. The form of the assistance provided by Luxinnovation will be determined on a case-by-case basis, depending on the nature and progress made on the winning project.

V. Terms of participation and applications

Projects must be entered online at www.tourisminnovation.lu. The entry will be contractual. Applications must be submitted in electronic form by 12 June 2018 at the latest.

Documents to be provided in support of an application:
entry form and project sheet duly completed;
project business plan containing at least an executive summary of a maximum 2 pages, describing the market and the competitive environment, objectives and strategic positioning, financial forecast with income statement, balance sheet and financing plan, the operational plan, human resources and if necessary a description of the legal dimension.

Finalists will be required to provide additional documents, cf. Section VIII Page 4.

The applicant will select the language in which they wish to lodge their application from French, English and German. Any incomplete application will be automatically disregarded.

Documents, photographs or hypertext links (e.g. to a video or web site) may be appended to the application. Such items will serve as complementary explanations to the application.

The documents and information submitted with the application will be treated confidentially and will only be submitted to members of the jury for project assessment. Only the project sheet completed by the applicant as part of their application is intended for publication. There will be no publication of any other information contained in the application without the applicant’s consent.

No rights on the submitted projects and ideas are claimed by the organizer, the candidates retain the intellectual property of their projects.

VI. Composition of the jury

The members of the jury for the Tourism Innovation Award 2018 consist of a maximum of 6 representatives in the following entities:
o Ministry of the Economy;
o Luxinnovation;
o Luxembourg for Tourism;
o Regional Tourist Offices;
o Chamber of Commerce;
o Chamber of Trade.

The members of the jury will sign a document declaring that there is no conflict of interest in relation to the projects submitted. They will guarantee objectivity as well as observance of the regulations for the present competition. A member of the jury will abstain from voting if there is a family relationship to the second degree with a representative of an applicant enterprise.

VII. Assessment criteria and weighting

The jury will rely on the following assessment criteria:

Innovation (40%): is the product/service new and does it present added value for the tourist sector? Does it follow current trends? Does it demonstrate creativity, originality or is it of an exemplary nature?

Economic value (15%): does the project have chances to establish itself on the market over the long term? Can new market segments be exploited? What is the economic model and how is the project funded? How will the project be integrated into the Luxembourg economy?

Sustainability (15%): is the project ecologically, economically and socially responsible? What certifications does the enterprise have if any? Is the project aimed at providing a sustainable boost to tourist activity in Luxembourg?

Client orientation (15%): what is the intended target? What is the use value and the added value offered to the target?

Quality (15%): what is the project’s quality requirement? Are understandable quality criteria used?

VIII. Selection procedure

The project sheet for all those projects which meet the conditions of eligibility will be published on the web site www.tourisminnovation.lu after the competition has been closed to entries.

a. Selection of two winners

The choice of winners will be made by the jury in two stages.

The jury will meet during the first half of July 2018 to analyse the applications. Additional accounting and economic documents may be requested by the jury and site visits to applicant enterprises may take place if they are deemed to be necessary. Experts may be consulted, if necessary, to assist in analysing projects.
The jury will establish a short-list of the six most innovative applications (three in each of the categories) before mid-July, and they will be informed of their selection by registered letter.

The six short-listed applicants will be required to provide the following documents within two weeks of their notification:
– a sworn declaration that the enterprise has not reached the de minimis aid ceiling of EUR 200,000 in accordance with Regulation (EU) No 1407/2013 on aid (form provided by us).
– a certificate of non-obligation with regard to the tax and social security authorities dating back no more than three months showing that the enterprise has fulfilled its obligations in relation to the payment of contributions, taxes and levies.

The six short-listed applicants will be invited to the Ministry of the Economy during the first half of September to present their projects individually to the jury. The jury will select the winners in the two categories. It reserves the right to exclude applicants or to withdraw awards from applicants which have provided inaccurate or incomplete information. The jury also reserves the right not to make an award if it considers that there is no application which meets the conditions for receiving an award.

b. Public Prize

The Public Prize will be awarded independently of the jury’s work. The public will be asked to vote via the web site www.tourisminnovation.lu naming their favourite project among all those entered. The vote will be open from the date on which the projects are placed online until 9 September 2018.

IX. Award ceremony

The official award ceremony is planned to be held by end of September 2018. During the award ceremony, the projects of the six short-listed enterprises as well as the project winning the Public Prize will be presented.

X. Confidentiality

The information published on the web site www.tourisminnovation.lu will be that provided by the applicants in their project sheets. Applicants may opt not to have their project published online. All other information, documents, data, etc. submitted by applicants will be treated in the strictest confidence. The jury undertakes not to disclose information it obtains when examining the applications presented by applicants.

 

 

[1] According to the definition set by Community Recommendation No 2003/361: the enterprise employs fewer than 250 people and its turnover does not exceed EUR 50 million or its balance sheet total does not exceed EUR 43 million.

[2] Any reward within the context of the Tourism Innovation Award will be attributed in accordance with Regulation (EU) No 1407/2013 on de minimis aid.

Règlement du concours

I. Objet

Le ministère de l’Économie – Direction générale du tourisme, en partenariat avec Luxinnovation, lance un concours national intitulé Tourism Innovation Award 2018 dans le but d’encourager l’innovation dans le tourisme.

II. Conditions d’éligibilité

a. Candidats éligibles :

Le concours est ouvert aux petites et moyennes entreprises , entités juridiques de droit luxembourgeois ayant une activité au Luxembourg et qui réalisent ou souhaitent réaliser une idée particulièrement novatrice en rapport avec le secteur du tourisme.

b. Projets éligibles :

Les projets de développement de solutions nouvelles (produits ou services) sont éligibles à condition de répondre à 3 critères :
Caractère innovant : Le produit ou service (ou combinaison des deux) est nouveau pour l’entreprise. Les caractéristiques ou utilisations prévues sont significativement différentes de celles créées auparavant. Ceci peut impliquer le développement d’une nouvelle technologie ou l’adaptation d’une technologie existante, le focus doit porter sur le client et ses besoins.
Projet récent : le projet soumis ne doit pas remonter à plus de trois ans à compter de la candidature. Il peut également se trouver dans la dernière phase de développement avant l’introduction sur le marché.
Tourisme : le projet doit être en rapport avec le secteur du tourisme.
Ne sont pas éligibles les projets qui contredisent les valeurs du Grand-Duché de Luxembourg et qui risqueraient de nuire à son image.

III. Différentes catégories de prix

Les projets peuvent être introduits dans une des deux catégories suivantes :

1) SMART TOURISME : Solutions intelligentes, personnalisation de l’information et de l’offre, solutions open-source, protection des données, réalité virtuelle, visualisation 3D, géocodage, etc.

2) ÉCONOMIE CIRCULAIRE ET TOURISME DURABLE : Optimisation des flux de ressources et de matières, efficacité des ressources, économie de partage, Internet des objets, écotourisme, protection de l’environnement, préservation des ressources naturelles, etc.

IV. Récompenses

Le lauréat de chacune des deux catégories évoquées au chapitre III. ci-dessus sera récompensé d’une somme de 15.000 €.

Un Prix du public est décerné parmi l’ensemble des projets soumis et est doté d’une récompense de 15.000 €.

Au-delà de l’aide financière dont bénéficieront les deux lauréats, Luxinnovation propose une analyse des projets des 6 finalistes et établira une évaluation de leur potentiel innovant ainsi que le cas échéant une feuille de route en vue de la mise en œuvre ou du développement du projet. L’accompagnement du projet ne comprend aucun soutien financier à sa mise en œuvre. Le concours récompense l’idée novatrice telle que décrit dans le paragraphe ci-dessus. La forme de l’accompagnement de Luxinnovation sera déterminée au cas par cas, suivant la nature et l’état d’avancement du projet retenus.

V. Modalités de participation et dossier de candidature

Les projets sont introduits en ligne sur www.tourisminnovation.lu. L’inscription est contractuelle. Les dossiers de candidature sont à soumettre sous forme électronique jusqu’au 12 juin 2018 au plus tard.

Documents à fournir pour soumettre une candidature :
Formulaire d’inscription et fiche de projet dûment complétés ;
Plan business du projet comprenant au moins : executive summary de max. 2 pages ; descriptif du marché et de l’environnement concurrentiel, objectifs et positionnement stratégique, prévisionnel financier avec compte de résultat, bilan et plan de financement prévisionnels, plan opérationnel, ressources humaines et le cas échéant descriptif de la dimension juridique.

Les finalistes devront fournir des documents supplémentaires, voir chapitre VIII page 4.

Le candidat choisit la langue dans laquelle il souhaite déposer son dossier parmi le français, l’anglais ou l’allemand. Tout dossier incomplet est écarté d’office.

Des annexes peuvent être jointes sous forme de documents, photos ou liens hypertextes (p.ex. vers des vidéos ou un site Internet). Ces pièces serviront d’explication complémentaire à la candidature.

Les documents et informations soumis dans le cadre de la candidature seront traités de façon confidentielle et seront transmis uniquement aux membres du jury pour l’évaluation du projet. Uniquement la fiche de projet à remplir par le candidat dans le cadre de sa candidature est destinée à publication. Aucune publication d’autres informations contenues dans le dossier de candidature ne pourra être faite sans l’accord du candidat.

Aucun droit sur les projets et idées soumis n’est réclamé par l’organisateur, les candidats conservent la propriété intellectuelle de leur projets.

 

VI. Composition du jury

Le jury du Tourism Innovation Award 2018 se compose d’un maximum de 6 représentants issus des entités suivantes :

  • Ministère de l’Economie;
  • Luxinnovation ;
  • Luxembourg for Tourism ;
  • Offices régionaux du tourisme ;
  • Chambre de Commerce ;
  • Chambre des métiers.

Les membres du jury signent un document attestant l’absence de conflits d’intérêt par rapport aux projets soumis. Ils garantissent leur objectivité ainsi que le respect du règlement du présent concours. Le membre du jury s’abstient du vote lorsqu’il existe un lien de parenté jusqu’au 2e degré avec un représentant de l’entreprise candidate.

VII. Critères d’évaluation et pondération

Le jury s’appuie sur les critères d’évaluation suivants :

Innovation (40 %) : Le produit/service est-il nouveau et présente-t-il une valeur ajoutée pour le secteur touristique? Suit-il les tendances actuelles? Fait-il preuve de créativité, d’originalité ou présente-t-il un caractère exemplaire ?

Valeur économique (15 %) : Le projet a-t-il des chances de s’affirmer à long terme sur le marché? De nouveaux segments de marché peuvent-ils être exploités? Quel est le modèle économique et comment le projet est-il financé ? Comment le projet s’intègre-t-il dans l’économie luxembourgeoise?

Durabilité (15 %) : Le projet est-il écologiquement, économiquement et socialement responsable ? De quelles certifications dispose l’entreprise éventuellement? Le projet a-t-il vocation à dynamiser durablement l’activité touristique au Luxembourg ?

Orientation client (15 %) : Quelle cible est-elle visée? Quelles sont la valeur d’usage et la plus-value offertes à la cible ?

Qualité (15 %) : De quelle exigence de qualité dispose le projet? Est-ce que des critères de qualité compréhensibles sont utilisés ?

VIII. Procédure de sélection

La fiche de projet de tous les projets qui remplissent les conditions d’éligibilité sont publiés sur le site Internet www.tourisminnovation.lu après la clôture des inscriptions.

a. Sélection des 2 lauréats

Le choix des lauréats s’effectue en deux étapes par le jury.

Le jury se réunit au cours de la première quinzaine de juillet 2018 afin d’analyser les dossiers. La demande de documents comptables et économiques supplémentaires ainsi qu’une visite sur site des entreprises candidates par le jury pourra avoir lieu si cela est jugé nécessaire. Le recours à des experts peut avoir lieu, si nécessaire, afin d’évaluer les projets.
Le jury procède à une présélection des 6 dossiers les plus innovants (3 dans chacune des catégories) avant mi-juillet, qui sont informés par lettre recommandée.

Les 6 finalistes seront tenus de fournir les documents suivants endéans 2 semaines après l’annonce de leur sélection :
– Déclaration sur l’honneur que l’entreprise n’a pas atteint son plafond d’aide de 200.000 € conformément au Règlement (UE) N°1407/2013 relatif aux aides de minimis (formulaire fourni par nos soins).
– Attestations de non-obligation à l’égard des administrations fiscales et de la sécurité sociale ne datant pas de plus de trois mois et dont il ressort que l’entreprise est en règle avec ses obligations relatives au paiement des cotisations, impôts et taxes.

Les 6 candidats préseélectionnés sont invités au ministère de l’Economie au cours de la première moitié de septembre afin de présenter leur projet individuellement au jury. Le jury sélectionne les lauréats des deux catégories. Il se réserve le droit d’exclure les candidats ou retirer le Prix aux candidats qui auront fourni des informations inexactes ou incomplètes. Le jury se réserve le droit de ne pas attribuer un prix, s’il estime qu’il n’existe aucun dossier remplissant les conditions pour recevoir le prix.

b. Prix du Public

Le prix du public sera décerné indépendamment du travail du jury. Le public sera appelé à se prononcer via le site Internet www.tourisminnovation.lu afin de désigner son projet favori parmi l’ensemble des projets soumis. Le vote est ouvert entre la mise en ligne des projets et le 9 septembre 2018.

IX. Cérémonie de remise

La date de la remise officielle des prix est prévue fin septembre 2018. Au cours de cette cérémonie de remise, les projets des 6 finalistes de même que le projet ayant remporté le Prix du Public seront présentés.

X. Confidentialité

Les informations qui seront publiés sur le site Internet www.tourisminnovation.lu sont celles rédigées par les candidats dans la fiche de projet. Le candidat peut choisir de ne pas faire publier son projet en ligne. Toutes les autres informations, documents, données, etc. remises par les candidats sont traités avec la plus stricte confidentialité. Le jury s’engage à ne pas divulguer les informations dont il a pris connaissance lors de l’examen des dossiers présentés par les candidats.

 

 

[1] Selon la définition fixée par la recommandation communautaire N° 2003/361 : l’entreprise emploie moins de 250 personnes et son chiffre d’affaires n’excède pas 50 millions d’euros ou son bilan n’excède pas 43 millions d’euros.

[2] Toute récompense dans le cadre du Tourism Innovation Award est attribuée conformément au Règlement (UE) N°1407/2013 relatif aux aides de minimis.